Questioning the Kony 2012 Campaign

So, I am just going to do it….and post about Kony 2012.  I will say though, I am probably not the best one to be posting about it, because I don’t know too much.

I watched the video that has been incessantly posted on Facebook by my friends. If you haven’t watched it, if you want, take the 30 minutes to watch it here now. I was definitely getting annoyed by how many people kept posting about it on Facebook….just about every few posts…..someone was talking about Kony 2012.

After pushing it aside a hundred times, I finally took the half hour to watch it.  Then….I did some research and found that there are a lot of people for this and against as well.  On my Facebook, there are more people who post in favor of, however there have been a few against.  The reason is because the organization behind it is Invisible Children and there are people questioning their finances.  Every organization cannot spend 100% of donations to a cause because they need money going back in support of the organization itself.  Check out this article that really questions where the organization’s finances are going.

Once again, I am putting it out there that I don’t know that much information about this.  What I really want to know is how you feel about this whole Kony 2012 campaign. Clearly I know you will want the LRA to end…..but I want to know your opinion on Invisible Children and their involvement including the documentary.  Give me your knowledge J

3 comments on “Questioning the Kony 2012 Campaign

  1. I’ve seen this video all over the place, too, and it does make you wonder how much people bother to find out about something before they post it. Invisible Children sounds like a great cause in theory, but who knows? Maybe just raising awareness is enough.

    • I completely agree. I think some people, while they may WATCH the video, may still not understand it completely. They may just re-post because they see that everyone else is. I believe the point of this video is just to raise awareness, so it seems to be working….

  2. Somehow I missed this completely, so this was my first exposure to the Kony 2012 thing. Apparently it has fizzled as of late April. Looking into this further, it seems that this whole thing may not have even been everything that it claimed.

    I’m of the opinion that internet activism and advisiors do not solve problems like Kony. A trained Navy SEAL and a high powered sniper rifle, on the other hand, is a viable solution.

    At least I know know what some jokes on recent South Park episodes mean when referring to San Diego…

Leave a Reply

